Author Topic: Raknet for javascript  (Read 5641 times)

lobo_tuerto

  • Not-a-newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
    • lobo_tuerto
Raknet for javascript
« on: February 09, 2009, 12:25:07 PM »
Hi guys,

Maybe this won't make sense, but here it is.

I was wondering if there exists any interest from people in the community about seeing a port of Raknet that could be run in javascript. What I'm looking for is a client API and module that would let me write quick clients on a browser.

I would be interested in turning a (maybe?) limited browser into an unlimited client machine.

You have all these fabulous new javascript frameworks (jQuery :wink:) that lets you manipulate the environment to your will, use fx, pull images from dynamyc sources, but mostly take advantage of the web. Maybe this could spring all sort of new developments, new playstyles, etc.
So basically any person with a "capable" browser could just "navigate" to your site and start playing your game.
Not in the way they are used to "web browser games" anymore.

So, what do you think?
« Last Edit: February 09, 2009, 12:28:32 PM by lobo_tuerto »
Zen hunting@lobo tuerto

Rak'kar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6895
  • Karma: 291
    • View Profile
    • RakNet
Re: Raknet for javascript
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2009, 10:26:37 AM »
Probably not possible. Can javascript even use UDP?

lobo_tuerto

  • Not-a-newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
    • lobo_tuerto
Re: Raknet for javascript
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2009, 03:30:03 AM »
Hmmm I don't think so. But there are new technologies coming this way.

For example take something like Orbited. It let's you have sockets in the browser. That might be a step closer.
http://www.orbited.org/

It let's you connect any browser to a TCP server. Would this help?
Zen hunting@lobo tuerto

Rak'kar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6895
  • Karma: 291
    • View Profile
    • RakNet
Re: Raknet for javascript
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2009, 08:48:12 AM »
I'd have to add support for TCP sockets in RakPeer, rather than using a separate TCPInterface class. This is on the schedule eventually.

lobo_tuerto

  • Not-a-newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
    • lobo_tuerto
Re: Raknet for javascript
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2009, 03:55:07 PM »
Ah, excellent!

Will keep an eye on it, thank you. :)
Zen hunting@lobo tuerto