RakNet

General Discussion => Anything Goes => Topic started by: DragonRift on April 23, 2009, 12:30:55 AM

Title: Clustering and data streaming
Post by: DragonRift on April 23, 2009, 12:30:55 AM
This is to all them people questioning if RakNet can handle a MMO:

Since 2004, we have been using raknet to develop a MMO Game Creation System as the main engine for our company. In this time we have been able to do many fancy things. Load Balancing, Server Clustering, Realtime Content Creation and Updating, Scripting Systems, Multi-Threading (Including use of Hyper-Threaded Loaders. So far we have a server framework that has been tested with 30k+ connections using 7 Quad Core Xeons running VMWARE Virtual Private Servers with over 20 Server Instances. We are doing this stable and have had the servers online without a reboot for over a year now (except Raknet Updates and minor upgrades). We have been working on a Graphical Engine implementation using www.horde3d.org

I just want to re-assure everyone who sees this that RakNet is more than capable of handling anything you can dream up or create, it just depends how much effort you want to put into your product to make it efficient and successful.

Thank You
Title: Re: Clustering and data streaming
Post by: Daniel on April 23, 2009, 07:22:25 AM
I'd like to reiterate this. While we haven't been going as long, since 2007 we have been developing technology for handling MMO scale games. Currently we have load balancing, multithreading, a dynamic component-based object system which automatically propagates to all connected systems. We also have realtime editing functionality which allows for collaborative world building. Except we use Ogre3D (http://www.ogre3d.org/). Still a long way to go, but we are 100% confident RakNet can handle all our needs.
Title: Re: Clustering and data streaming
Post by: Zuka on June 05, 2009, 04:02:57 PM
Well, that's cool and reassuring. I'm just beginning a solo MMO project (yes, I know how much work it is!), so at least now I know it's very possible using RakNet. I'm using DirectX 9.0c.